MEDIUM RARE // TOPICS // WRITING

What Topics Made Me The Most Money On Medium

Or… How I spent a lot of time evaluating my stories on Medium and my surprising insight

synapticloop
4 min readAug 21, 2023

--

I did some analysis of the articles that I published and the topics that were assigned to them. Laborious, yes, but the results were insightful.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

So Many Things Are Important, But Topics Are Importanter

I have published 239 articles on Medium (this is my 240th) over the almost 3 years that I have been a member.

I do not publish often and am more curious about the writing process than the money-making aspect.

Don’t get me wrong — I do like seeing the partner payment dashboard slowly click over on a daily basis.

And then it sort of hit me, if I am going to write, why not ensure that I get the maximum interaction with each of my stories….

So I sat down, looked at a lot of my previous articles, and started writing down information on earnings and topics.

The Biases With This Approach

Yes, the payment algorithm is opaque and has had a massive overhaul recently. But the simple rule for Medium is…

--

--